I smell cinnamon, I smell myrrh.

17 03 2009

Yes, yes, I know its the middle of March – snow has barely begun to melt in some places on the globe – but I’m already thinking Christmas!

And this being my web journal, can The Orchestra really be far behind? Unthinkable. So naturally, I’m conceptualizing a Christmas Concert for The Orchestra this year. I suggested this over dinner to my assistant and the principal percussionist – his eyes just lit up. He commented on how it was almost impossible to play Christmas music without making people smile…including oneself. I agree; I guess Christmas music is one of the few genres left which one cannot approach with anything less than a selfless attitude – you have to do it for others…to make others happy. Doing it any other way makes you look like a fool…and leaves you feeling like a first-class cad.

The last time we played anything Christmas-y was 5 years ago, when we first started – we played one song: Carol of the Bells. This time, I would like to see what 5 years of experience can bring to the table. I was thinking maybe a bunch of less-familiar-yet-tuneful carols, interspersed with more familiar ones. I have a good idea of where we will perform, so it eliminates the possibility of performing large-scale works (Interestingly enough, Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus is more closely-associated with Christmas than it is with Easter, which is what it was originally intended for). I’ve got two already in mind: Bring a Torch, Jeanette, Isabella and Ding Dong Merrily on High. I’ll gladly take a swing at Little Drummer Boybut only if I can arrange it as to break your heart.

Speaking of heartbreak, have a listen to Enya’s One Toy Soldier from her And Winter Came album – all it took was one listen and I just wanted to weep.

Excuse me now. I need to go look for bells…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

