Cast Away

3 09 2007

wilson.jpgI recently watched the film Cast Away again after some six, maybe seven years (Wow! It’s been that long already?!). It’s a tough movie to watch…for me at least…because I can relate to it on a very deep level, although I don’t know entirely why.

I remember when my dad first popped it into the VCD player, we were absolutely riveted from start to finish. I practically memorized all of the dialogue in the movie (there wasn’t a whole lot said to begin with), and I remember wanting to get a Wilson volleyball so I could have someone to talk to…but I remember that what really struck me about the movie was the almost total absence of background music. When it does come in, it is shattering.

There’s this one scene where the music kicks in (after maybe an hour or more of nothing but the sound of waves crashing on the beach) that I find particularly heartbreaking: Tom Hanks’ character, having built a raft and having been provided with a makeshift sail, has just escaped the huge breakers surrounding the island which have kept him from escaping for the past four years. He looks back at his island home (or prison, depending on your perspective) for the last time as it slowly disappears into the shroud of a rainstorm…and the theme for the movie kicks in, played on an oboe, then followed by strings.

I never thought an oboe could make me so sublimely sad…

As a result, I’m actually inspired to write some music based on the movie. How I’ll do it and when will it be performed is anybody’s guess…but I feel I really need to do this…

Now, where to find an oboe…

Actions

Information

4 responses

5 09 2007
janna

i wanted a wilson volleyball, too. ^_^

18 09 2007
nienna varda

ang emote naman! hehehehehe

18 09 2007
GTI

Aha! So you’ve been reading, eh? πŸ™‚

Welcome. Comment sensibly πŸ˜‰

26 09 2007
nienna varda

Wehehehe. Sowee that’s as sensible as I can get πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

