Humble Pie

18 07 2007

It has been awhile since I last wrote…my apologies to my faithful audience (ha!). It’s just that…well, every time something “blog-worthy” happens to me, that just happens to be the time I don’t want to blog about it.

But I do miss it, so I suppose now is as good a time as ever to pick-up where I left-off.

_________________________________

I gave my violin an extreme makeover today…I changed the tuning pegs, the tailpiece, the tailpiece button, and the chinrest, migrating from boring plastic-and-metal to stunning (at least in my opinion) jujube.

Lyndon (my teaching “apprentice”) and I spent the morning sanding the pegs down so they would fit in the holes (nobody here knows what a reamer is, much less actually has one), then drilling holes in them for the strings to pass through. It was the first time I had ever used a power drill – it was both an empowering yet nerve-wracking experience. Yeah, I feel more like a man now.

_________________________________

It was a classic case of failing to “Seek first to understand, then be understood”.

Yesterday, I snapped at a department meeting and said some things I really shouldn’t have…it hurt some people I really never intended to hurt and it left me feeling dismally, unutterably stupid.

I have since apologized to the people involved, but as I attempted to walk all the way home from Alabang Town Center (a “nearby” mall – that’s approximately 5 kilometers away) soon after, I realized that I had great difficulty in accepting that I was capable of something so immature – the very concept was debilitating to meditate upon.

I suppose I am still surrounded by fools and idiots – by uninspired people with uninspired minds who’s very existence is uninspiring, if not outright infuriating. Humble Pie, I suppose, is God’s way of reminding me that sometimes, just sometimes, I act like I’m one of them.

Actions

Information

4 responses

19 07 2007
jac

“ha!” indeed. and “faithful audience” is right. kuya, ano ang jujube?

20 07 2007
GTI

Jujube is a kind of shrub, also known as the Chinese Date. Apparently, my tuning pegs, chinrest, and tailpiece are made from its wood, which (to my great pleasure) is the color of fine caramel 🙂

24 07 2007
redeemedchild

faithful audience!hahaha &;p uu nga it has been awhile since your last post….anong/sinong violin yan?si “mikay” ba yan? &;p

24 07 2007
GTI

Yupyup 🙂

Leave a Reply

