Still Programming…

15 05 2007

At first I was relieved to have finally finished copying Handel’s Worthy is the Lamb that was Slain – I figured I could now throw myself into transcribing and arranging more modern tunes for next year’s concert; however, after a feeble and rather half-hearted struggle with transcribing Within a Room Somewhere and When We Dance, plus a rather revealing run-in with an old church hymn, I am once again at a loss with what pieces to perform.

For one, I don’t want to program pieces for the sole sake of entertainment – I think a concert should be entertaining, but not merely entertainment; I do believe that the music should communicate something to the audience that is above and beyond “having a good time”.

On the otherhand, I do want to make sure the orchestra has fun, because they invariably sound better when they really dig the music they’re making.

So now I’ve got a problem: How does one program the Hallelujah Chorus and the theme from Super Mario Bros.  into one concert so that they sound like a cohesive whole?

Suggestions, anyone?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

