Concert Programming

7 05 2007

One of the things that has been constantly percolating in my head this summer is next year’s concert – what to play and in what order. It’s harder to do than you think, since I have to balance the abilities of the orchestra with my raw musical ambitions and whatever message I would like to get across to both the audience and the orchestra itself.

For next year, I was thinking about balancing three “very difficult” classical works with around seven “popular” works – and I do mean “popular”, i.e. orchestra + band.

The three classical works are Gloria from Mozart’s Great Mass in C Minor, the well-known Hallelujah Chorus and Worthy is the Lamb that was Slain from Handel’s Messiah. The orchestra has a feel for the Mozart piece, so I don’t see why we should be having any real problems there; it’s the pieces by Handel that’s got me worried – they are fiendish, with difficult arpeggio passages and complicated contrapuntal lines that stretch both choir and orchestra alike.

To balance this off, I was thinking about bringing some modern music into the mix…stuff like When We Dance by Sting (What? You were expecting Sofia Gubaidulina?, Bleeding by Sixpence None the Richer, maybe Black Balloon by the Goo Goo Dolls. Any suggestions?

For those of you who’ve suggested songs for the orchestra to play at one point or another, you should know that I don’t just choose songs for musical reasons – I need to believe in the song, and to believe that what the song is saying is something worth hearing. So go ahead and send in your suggestions – but think about why you’re suggesting them in the first place.

Now…back to work.

Actions

Information

3 responses

9 05 2007
merilion

why not push through with “Within a Room Somewhere”? i really think it’s a beautiful piece.

something from Plumb? that is, from their third album. di ko pa kase napakinggan nang buo yun e.

i’d REALLY like to hear “When We Dance.” i’m looking forward to it. 😀

tugtog niyo na rin ang “Time Scar.” hehehehe. :p

how about Jars of Clay? “Frail” or “Worlds Apart”? hehehe. :p

9 05 2007
GTI

Right, right…I did plan on doing Within a Room Somewhere. Thanks for reminding me 🙂

11 05 2007
jsh177

Thanks for adding me to your blogroll! I just did the same over at doublebassblog.com. I’m enjoying reading your posts.

Leave a Reply

